National Quality Award Program


The AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program provides a pathway for providers of long term care services to journey towards performance excellence. The program is based on the core values and criteria of the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program

The Quality Award program has three progressive step levels. Applications are judged by trained Examiners who provide feedback on opportunities for improvement to support continuous learning. Facilities must achieve an award at each level to progress to the next level.

Bronze – Commitment to Quality applicants begin their quality journey by developing an organizational profile including vision and mission statements, an awareness of their environment and customers’ expectations, and a demonstration of their ability to improve a process.

Silver – Achievement in Quality applicants demonstrate a level of achievement in their quality journey through good performance outcomes that have evolved from how they embrace the core values and concepts of visionary leadership, focus on the future, resident-focused excellence, management by innovation, and focus on results and creating value.

Gold – Excellence in Quality applicants must show superior performance over time that is based on their systematic approaches to leadership; strategic planning, focus on customers, measurement, analysis and knowledge management, workforce focus, process management and results. Gold applicants address the complete Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence in Health Care.



Submit your Intent to Apply for the 2019 AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program! Participating in the Quality Award Program has many benefits, including:

  • Provides a proven framework that organizations can use to make improvements in any clinical, quality or other operational issue (i.e. staff engagement, customer satisfaction, hospital readmissions)
  • Helps prepare organizations to meet regulatory requirements and navigate a changing market
  • Serves as a team building activity to engage staff across all levels of the organization
  • Provides external validation of high quality care and services
  • Serves as a marketing resource for consumers, referral sources and other key stakeholders
  • Participants receive customized feedback with their top strengths and improvement areas

The Intent to Apply deadline is Thursday, November 8, 2018 at 8 p.m. Eastern. While not mandatory, applicants who submit the Intent to Apply will save money on their overall application fee and receive extra educational resources. No paperwork or application is needed to submit the Intent to Apply. Access the 2019 Intent to Apply payment process on the Quality Award Portal today!

To download the Bronze, Silver and Gold application packets and free educational resources, visit the Quality Award website. For additional information, contact

Interested in participating in the Quality Award program but not sure how to get started? IHCA/INCAL team is here to help! We're hosting three prep workshops for IHCA/INCAL members to equip them with the resources needed to develop a comprehensive application. 

October 17, 2018: Silver Quality Award Prep Workshop - Monroeville

October 25, 2018: Silver Quality Awards Prep Workshop - Indianapolis

November 1, 2018: Silver Quality Awards Prep Workshop - French Lick




© Copyright 2018. All Rights Reserved. Privacy | Terms of Use | Refund/Cancellation Policies

Newsletter sign-up

Email Address
First Name
Last Name